top of page
  • Mrs Hamilton

Springwatch - Make A Nature Journal

Updated: Apr 9, 2020

As we slowly get used to this new way of living, I find it comforting to see familiar things around me that remain unchanged. Even during this unprecedented lockdown, where it can sometimes feel that our lives have been paused, nature's cycle keeps turning. The daffodils in my garden have continued to bloom and the trees around us have started to blossom. This stunning tree I saw with my family the other day was humming with bumblebees! I wish I'd known about this link then; I would have snapped a closeup and identified them more precisely for you.


We have also seen and heard the skylarks hovering at great heights over the Downs. I remember being on a big family walk this time last year and hearing and seeing them then too. It's hard to believe these tiny birds can fly so powerfully and sing so loudly. You can learn more about them here. Scroll down that link for the video or, if you are near the Downs, keep your eyes and ears peeled! These little birds are hard to miss!


Whilst all of these normal signs of spring are familiar and reassuring, I have also seen signs that nature knows we are behaving differently -and is behaving a little differently too as a result. When I'm driving or walking in the countryside, I love seeing buzzards soaring overhead. They're easily spotted all over rural areas if you look up - and I never tire of seeing them. However, the other day I saw one flying over our school field as I was heading home! I've never seen one so close to the centre of town before. Is this what happens after such a brief pause in human activity on the ground and in the skies? If you don't know how to identify these magnificent birds, you can find out more about how to recognise them here.

Happy spotting!



It's not just buzzards that are behaving differently. In London, a large herd of deer have been grazing on patches of grass in a London housing estate. Meanwhile, in Wales a horde of mountain goats have invaded a town!


With so much time on your hands, and such a lot going on in the natural world right now, has there ever been a better time to start a nature journal? Document your observations of nature from your window/garden/allotment/neighbourhood. Watch this fantastic video from the Natural History Museum to learn how to make one, and read the accompanying article for inspiration about what to include and how to lay it out. I can't wait to learn about what you find! Share your findings by asking your adult to email me, and I will feature them in a future post.


Not sure what you've found? There are a wealth of sites that you can use for research to help you identify any mystery species. In my opinion, this is one of the best. The Sussex Wildlife Trust is a hive of information about local wildlife. The page I've directed you to, Go Wild at Home, has links to a fantastic daily diary written by a representative documenting what he sees in his garden, a Species of the Day page and a range of activity sheets that you might want to have a go at too.








52 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page