top of page
  • Mrs Hamilton

Easter Decorations

Last year, I worked with my children and my mother in-law to make painted eggs to hang on branches in our window. They looked really cheerful and we kept them up for ages. I'd been looking forward to doing that again this year, but now it depends on eggs being included in our shopping delivery tomorrow! I'm keeping my fingers crossed that they will be in there. I've already sourced a few sticks from our family walks, so all good on that front!



If you would like to have a go at making some egg decorations (and you have eggs) then here is a useful link. I recommend you give the eggs a good wash first too! The link suggests lots of ways to decorate them. We just used poster paints last year, and then coated with a spray varnish that I had left over from another project. This will make them stronger - but you need to make sure you're outside, and that you have an adult's supervision whilst doing this part! I would actually say it is not necessary to varnish, or to use the decoupage glue to strengthen them as the link says. I think they will be fine if you just paint and decorate them - they will still look lovely for this Easter, but may not last beyond that.


My back up plan, if there are no eggs, is to make some flowers out of egg boxes like this:

I will then just hang these from the sticks we've collected.


We might also paint our sticks, a bit like this:



Have you made any Easter decoration? I'd love to see them - ask your adult to email them to me and I will share them on the blog. I will also post pictures of our finished creation, in whatever form it ends up taking!





28 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Bake Off

bottom of page